Body Hair: A Life Obstacle?

As I scrolled through my Facebook Newsfeed today, I came across this Veet ad:

Screenshot_2015-06-15-10-39-33

I couldn’t believe that they would so blatantly use body shaming to sell their product. For some reason, I decided to look through the comments, and I honestly expected to see a slew of sexist comments. However, it was a slew of women speaking out against the ad. Many were disgusted by the ad’s assumption that women stopped living their life because of the shame of body hair.

Screenshot_2015-06-15-10-36-43

I have had many moments when I was self-conscious with my own body hair and have allowed it to dictate my own wardrobe choices. However, I’ve never went as far as to let unshaven legs stop me from having a great time, and I don’t think most women would. So, why does Veet assume that women would? What are your thoughts on this ad?

